Wednesday, July 09, 2008
Slovakia here I come!!
Monday, July 07, 2008
I Hurt!!
Sunday, July 06, 2008
Long Day!!!
Saturday, July 05, 2008
I think she has warmed up to me...

Fireworks
Friday, July 04, 2008
Peachtree Road Race
I can't believe I forgot to sign up for this!! Next year... I need to write it on my calendar so I don't forget!!
Thursday, July 03, 2008
I'm a new dog owner!!!
Wednesday, July 02, 2008
Ministry Services Retreat: Day Two
Aka. the day you should all be jealous of!
Amazing! Absolutely amazing. I was so excited last night that I couldn’t sleep. I was up every few hours checking the clock to make sure I didn’t miss my alarm… at 6am!! For those who know me you know that’s crazy!! But, my alarm did go off, I got straight up, and was at the workout room by 6:10am. I ran for 30 minutes and lifted weights for about 15-20 minutes. While I was running my hair tie didn’t want to stay on so I pulled it off and tried to put it back on when it broke! Once I stopped running I spoke with the receptionist of the workout room (yes, the workout room had a receptionist, two actually) and she had a spare for me to use! I was so excited that I had a way to pull my hair back and it felt like she was anticipating my needs. Excellent customer service!
After I finished I came back to the room, showered and was ready for breakfast by 7:30am. I couldn’t believe I was ready in a half hour!! Something must be wrong! But, my batteries for my camera were all charged up so I took a stroll around the hotel and took pictures, which I will have posted as soon as possible.
Little side note about me that I learned… I like to take pictures, I just get nervous about taking them with people. I feel bad asking them if they want to be in a picture! How funny (or crazy) is that! I am so silly sometimes!
Around 8am I met up with some of the ladies for breakfast and I have to tell you that of all the customer service experiences here (which have been overwhelming fabulous) this lacked even by Waffle House standards. They sat us but then didn’t get us drinks for about 20 minutes. A girl can’t wait 20 minutes for her coffee! Hehe! After that it took about another 10 minutes for them to get our orders from us. When our order was finally taken the waitress repeated the orders back to us and two of us ordered their caramelized grapefruit but when the food came they didn’t bring it out. When we commented about it they went back and brought some out that hadn’t been caramelized… which was the whole reason we ordered it so they took them back again and when they brought them out the 3rd time they were burned. I don’t know if anyone else has had burned brown sugar but I found out today it is horrible, it reminded me of pepper and I don’t think that’s what they were going for! Since we had to be in a meeting at 9am and it took so long to begin with we didn’t have time to reorder so I still haven’t had a caramelized grapefruit! But on a positive note, I ordered their French toast and it was amazing!!
For the rest of the morning we were in our meetings (aka classes) and learning about customer service and how it relates to us. They gave us a matrix to gage how we should think about our customer service and how to make it the best for our customers. What I love out North Point Ministries (NPMI from here on out) is that they also practice what they preach. At my previous job, which will remain nameless, they would preach great customer service but the management never followed up on it and the policies and procedures were only numbers driven. I love that this environment really promotes excellent customer service!
At noon we were fed an amazing soup, salad, and sandwich lunch before being let free. We had free time from about 1pm until 5pm. Of which I spent the entire time at the pool!!! It was amazing and I have a beautiful, glowing tan! I am loving it. I also loved that I was able to spend so much time getting to know some of the people at the churches that I am not always able to chat with!
At 5pm we headed out to dinner. We had a choice of 3 options… I (with 37 others) chose Japanese hibachi! It was as amazing as any other hibachi I have had. I do love it!! After dinner we had one more breakout session to further examine customer service and then we had a fun meeting. The last few days have circled around the theme of NPMI University and everything has been geared towards ‘courses’, ‘curriculum’, ‘professor’, etc so for the fun meeting we had Homecoming! We had different clicks (jocks, activist, student body, etc) and we each at to make a handheld float, have one person have a skill and perform one minute on stage and then answer a question, and have a chant that we did. I was in the activist group and our theme was saving the planet so I chat was “go green, go green” and our skill was one of the team member read a poem. We had fun with it but every other group went all out and it was hilarious! It was really cute!
Of course afterwards I was back by the fire having a s’more!! I can’t get enough of them this summer!!
I have the alarm set for 6am again tomorrow. This time I am going to go for a run thru the hiking trails. But, if I am going to have any energy I have to go to bed now!
Night, night!!
Ministry Services Retreat: Day Two
Aka. the day you should all be jealous of!
Amazing! Absolutely amazing. I was so excited last night that I couldn’t sleep. I was up every few hours checking the clock to make sure I didn’t miss my alarm… at 6am!! For those who know me you know that’s crazy!! But, my alarm did go off, I got straight up, and was at the workout room by 6:10am. I ran for 30 minutes and lifted weights for about 15-20 minutes. While I was running my hair tie didn’t want to stay on so I pulled it off and tried to put it back on when it broke! Once I stopped running I spoke with the receptionist of the workout room (yes, the workout room had a receptionist, two actually) and she had a spare for me to use! I was so excited that I had a way to pull my hair back and it felt like she was anticipating my needs. Excellent customer service!
After I finished I came back to the room, showered and was ready for breakfast by 7:30am. I couldn’t believe I was ready in a half hour!! Something must be wrong! But, my batteries for my camera were all charged up so I took a stroll around the hotel and took pictures, which I will have posted as soon as possible.
Little side note about me that I learned… I like to take pictures, I just get nervous about taking them with people. I feel bad asking them if they want to be in a picture! How funny (or crazy) is that! I am so silly sometimes!
Around 8am I met up with some of the ladies for breakfast and I have to tell you that of all the customer service experiences here (which have been overwhelming fabulous) this lacked even by Waffle House standards. They sat us but then didn’t get us drinks for about 20 minutes. A girl can’t wait 20 minutes for her coffee! Hehe! After that it took about another 10 minutes for them to get our orders from us. When our order was finally taken the waitress repeated the orders back to us and two of us ordered their caramelized grapefruit but when the food came they didn’t bring it out. When we commented about it they went back and brought some out that hadn’t been caramelized… which was the whole reason we ordered it so they took them back again and when they brought them out the 3rd time they were burned. I don’t know if anyone else has had burned brown sugar but I found out today it is horrible, it reminded me of pepper and I don’t think that’s what they were going for! Since we had to be in a meeting at 9am and it took so long to begin with we didn’t have time to reorder so I still haven’t had a caramelized grapefruit! But on a positive note, I ordered their French toast and it was amazing!!
For the rest of the morning we were in our meetings (aka classes) and learning about customer service and how it relates to us. They gave us a matrix to gage how we should think about our customer service and how to make it the best for our customers. What I love out North Point Ministries (NPMI from here on out) is that they also practice what they preach. At my previous job, which will remain nameless, they would preach great customer service but the management never followed up on it and the policies and procedures were only numbers driven. I love that this environment really promotes excellent customer service!
At noon we were fed an amazing soup, salad, and sandwich lunch before being let free. We had free time from about 1pm until 5pm. Of which I spent the entire time at the pool!!! It was amazing and I have a beautiful, glowing tan! I am loving it. I also loved that I was able to spend so much time getting to know some of the people at the churches that I am not always able to chat with!
At 5pm we headed out to dinner. We had a choice of 3 options… I (with 37 others) chose Japanese hibachi! It was as amazing as any other hibachi I have had. I do love it!! After dinner we had one more breakout session to further examine customer service and then we had a fun meeting. The last few days have circled around the theme of NPMI University and everything has been geared towards ‘courses’, ‘curriculum’, ‘professor’, etc so for the fun meeting we had Homecoming! We had different clicks (jocks, activist, student body, etc) and we each at to make a handheld float, have one person have a skill and perform one minute on stage and then answer a question, and have a chant that we did. I was in the activist group and our theme was saving the planet so I chat was “go green, go green” and our skill was one of the team member read a poem. We had fun with it but every other group went all out and it was hilarious! It was really cute!
Of course afterwards I was back by the fire having a s’more!! I can’t get enough of them this summer!!
I have the alarm set for 6am again tomorrow. This time I am going to go for a run thru the hiking trails. But, if I am going to have any energy I have to go to bed now!
Night, night!!
Ministry Services Retreat: Day One
Amazing is the only real word to describe this experience this far. The North Point team all drove up to the Ritz together and stopped for lunch at Zaksby’s and had some good food. It wasn’t too far from the Ritz so it didn’t take long after that and we were here. After a seamless check-in we had our bags in the room, our bathing suits on, and we were down at the infinity pool enjoying the sun and the company.
Let me back up a minute… the look, the feel, the design… it’s like the Grand Hotel on steroids. The design is upper-class cabin. There is beautiful dark wood everywhere. It reminds me of what you might see in a TCM movie for a get-away. The staff has been absolutely wonderful. We are back in the woods on a beautiful lake. If I didn’t know better I would think that I am sitting on Mackinac Island on the cliff overlooking the Upper Peninsula. I don’t know how I could describe it better without pictures. Of course I have my camera but the batteries are dead. I have them plugged in and plan to take a ton of pictures tomorrow! Count on it!
Back to the pool. We spent a few hours laying out this afternoon at the most amazing pool. The infinity pool overlooks the lake and I was sooooo relaxed sitting poolside with my feet dipping in the pool. I should have worn sunscreen (go ahead, yell at me now) and my shoulders are a little red. So tomorrow I will be wearing some (so back off.. hehe)!
After the pool we skipped the hotel in favor of Mellow Mushroom for dinner. They have this amazing vegan hoagie that was amazing. I will have to get the recipe and try to duplicate it myself!
After dinner we had our first session that went into what we will be learning tomorrow. I am excited because I have the alarm set for 6am and I have my workout clothes ready to go. I think I will spend tomorrow morning at the gorgeous workout facility and then Wednesday morning I will go for a long run thru the grounds. I want to make sure to get a weight-lifting day in and tomorrow will be perfect for that. Wednesday will be perfect for a long run, which I always seem to do once I get outside.
Off to sleep…
Monday, June 30, 2008
New Computer!!

Sunday, June 29, 2008
First Sunday!
Russelpooluza Pictures!

Saturday, June 28, 2008
Bright Futures

There were many different jobs however Amy and I were commissioned to re-stain the deck you see in the picture above. Unfortunately we don't have a before and after picture because the stain job looks amazing!! We rocked it out!
Russelpooluza

Thursday, June 26, 2008
Flicks on Fifth
First full week in!!
Wednesday, June 25, 2008
The Shack, Revisited
Tuesday, June 24, 2008
Vacation was wonderful!!
Monday, June 16, 2008
Last Day!!
Big sigh of relief!
Sunday, June 15, 2008
Flight Info!!!
June 17, 2008, Flight 253 [Non-Stop]
Departing Atlanta, GA (ATL) at 12:20 PM
Arriving Flint, MI (FNT) at 02:12 PM
June 22, 2008, Flight 256 [Non-Stop]
Departing Flint, MI (FNT) at 05:44 PM
Arriving Atlanta, GA (ATL) at 07:50
Saturday, June 14, 2008
For Sale

Sunday, June 08, 2008
Mission Trip Retreat - Camp Highland
Wednesday, June 04, 2008
Up and Coming
Two Weeks!!!
New Place!!
Check out the pictures!!
Angela's Birthday Party
Lonnnng time!!
Saturday, May 24, 2008
Ready to Move!!
√ U-Haul
√ Friends to Help Move
√ A new place to stay (This deserves more √√√√√√√√√) hehe!
√ Change of address form
√ Boxes Packed
I am ready to move.
I am ready to no longer be sleeping on the couch!!
I can't wait for Thursday!!
Friday, May 23, 2008
Wednesday, May 21, 2008
Bring on the Changes
Since I needed a place to stay and she is gone most of the time I will be moving into her place. She will leave the furniture, the condo will continue to stay on the market, she will visit me from time to time, and I will be paying a very reduced rate. Its a win-win.
I will be moving all of my furniture into storage on Thursday, May 29 and then moving my clothing to Angela's condo on Friday, May 30.
I am very excited about this opportunity. This way I can be without an apartment contract for a little while and can make some decisions about my life.
Also, I am in the middle of a few life changing options and just need some prayers as I let God direct my life. Please pray that he will show me what is the right option for now and pray that my heart will be open to whatever.
This is exciting and I am ready for all the changes!! But, this is also why I haven't blogged since Friday...
Friday, May 16, 2008
I think I have found a new place!!
I'll tell you more about it when its final!!
How can this happen?
Thursday, May 15, 2008
I'm Free!!
Pray for me! This is a busy week!!
Sunday, May 11, 2008
My walk revisited
Enjoy!
Urban Garden updated
I almost lost these as well but they are surviving well now!! I started by watering them as much as I do my grapefruit trees... about once a week. However they need a LOT more water than than. I try to water these tomatoes about every other day... they are in a hanging basket.
I have been lucky enough to be able to eat a couple of the tomatoes and they are great!! I have a few on my salad today too!!
Yummy!!
I live in hell.
To Whom It May Concern:
I am in a dire situation. I am experiencing the second leak in my apartment since I moved in and the first leak I had took 6 months to get fixed. I can't wait that long again and from my experiences here, which have been horrible, the only way to get this fixed quickly is to email everyone of you.
Around 4:00pm this afternoon I found that there was a leak in my bedroom, it was coming through the ceiling fan and onto my bed. I live in the studio sized apartment so I moved my bed as quickly as possible to the side of the room and called the front desk. I tried to speak to Melissa, the property manager, but she had already left for the day. I filled out a maintenance request over the phone and a maintenance man came but provided me no assistance. He looked at the ceiling fan, verified there had been a leak, but told me it had barely leaked and since it was not currently leaking he would let someone know on Monday.
I tried to get him to help me at least move my bed, since part of it was still under the ceiling fan, he hadn't isolated the root of the leak, and the possibility of it leaking again was quite good. He refused to help me at all. Instead, he brought in a bucket, put it so that it was touching my bed under the ceiling fan and left. A few minutes later I could smell an awful stench and thought it was coming from my ceiling. I walked back into the bedroom, looked up and then down. I saw inside the bucket that the maintenance man chose to left and it was horrible. It was disgustingly dirty and smelled of rotten fish. Seriously, I can't understand why someone would leave something that gross inside someones house and leave it touching someones furniture. I moved it to my balcony, moved the bed myself, and put my own bucket in the middle of the bedroom. When I moved the bed it was so full of water that there were marks left from where the bed had touched the floor. It was soaked through.
I am no electrician but the fact that the leak is coming through a ceiling fan makes me believe there is a potential for electrocution. There was absolutely no assistance from the man who came on site. And now I am going to have to wait until Monday for any real assistance and I will be sleeping on my couch because my bed is too wet for use and I am afraid of getting leaked on while I sleep. This isn't problem number one or problem number 100. I haven't had a month here without problems, mostly because it takes more than a month to get anything fixed.
I have attached pictures of the leak, of the bucket that was left in my room, and of the wet stains on my bed.
I have begged, I have pleaded, I have contacted the front desk over and over, I have written a letter like this before on my previous leak but nothing seems to work. And now I am down to one question... What would you do in my place? Please answer me honestly.
Hilarious I know, but I need this fixed this weekend.
Feel free to call me on my cell ***-***-****.
Tenant in apartment F207,
Kristie Poll
Once again I say, never-ever under any circumstance, chose to live at the Heights At Lenox.
Ever.
Thursday, May 08, 2008
To All The Guys
I am working on my timed work out (which was discussed in a previous post), in what is normally the group fitness room but there wasn't a class going on, I was by myself, and I was wearing my earphones listening to something I hoped would keep me pumped as I try to lose weight. When this guy walks up and stands by me. At this point I am doing inclined push-ups and wonder why someone is standing over me so I stop, look up, don't recognize him but realize he is motioning for me to take off my earphones.
So I stop and take them off. Then he goes into a sales pitch about how he travels all over the world, he is very rich, and how I am the most elegant girl he has ever seen. He then asks me for a date. I tell him no thank you but he now wants an explanation of why not. Whaaaa? Seriously. If I say no thats all it should be. So now I lie and say I have a boyfriend and still no thank you.
He then goes on a rant about how he is going to call his mother tonight and find out why he can't get a girl. He has a "beemer," he travels, and he has over a million dollars in the bank but he can't get a date. He then wants to know why I will not go on a date. I said well I have a boyfriend and I don't see other guys when I am dating someone (ps I don't like lying but it felt easiest in this situation). He looks straight at me and tells me would be a better boyfriend than who I already date.
I could have said so many things at this point but in hopes of quickly getting back to my workout I just shrugged my shoulders, put my headphones in, and went back to my workout.
Oh how many places he went wrong...
1. Never stop a lady in the middle of a workout. If you want to talk to her in the gym wait until she is at a down time. If you stop me you are starting off on the wrong foot. Its like telling me what I am doing is not important. Not a good way to start off.
2. If you say travel a lot for your job but don't say for what it screams you are looking for a hooker. Of which, I am not. Ewwh.
3. If you have to tell me about your money to get me hooked you are looking for a hooker. Refer to #2.
4. Never, ever tell a lady she is elegant when she is working out. She is sweating. Seriously, just wrong.
5. If she tells you no, say thank you for your time and walk away. That would be classy. Don't get whiny and bitchy. That's just pathetic.
6. Don't bring your mother into the first conversation.
7. Don't ask her out again when she says she has a boyfriend... that's just wrong.
How slimy.
Newest Fitness Routine
Love it.
Can't wait to do it again.
A few small tears...
It's not that I don't have worship time, I just do it in front of a computer while watching messages online, or with my head in the Word, or when I spend Monday nights with my community group. However there is just something about meeting in a large room with 1,000+ people, with rockingly loud music then a great time of worship with the same group of people that I miss. It is weighing more and more on my heart and on my head.
But, yesterday I was able to go to one sneak into one of the conferences during Drive for just a few minutes. I was able to stick my head in and listen to a bunch of church leaders sing and worship with a rocking band on stage, singing to and worshiping the God who loves me. It brought a few small tears to my eyes. I was only able to stay in the auditorium for a few minutes but it was exactly what I needed.
I want more.
Thank God!
Wednesday, May 07, 2008
High School Crush
In the meantime, feel so out of my element. I feel like a fish out of water. I feel like I am back in high school.
Since I have gone back to high school I now have a crush again. But this time its kinda fun. I don't know where to go from here... I am a female so from what I have been reading I should be pursued. And, maybe since I feel so outta place God is still working on me and I need to be patient.
Changing my focus from me to God is so not easy. But I am finding its more than worth it.
So, for now, I get to have a crush again. I will see how God direct it and me from here...
DRIVE
Rice Milk
This is going to be tough!
Monday, May 05, 2008
Early Morning
I have been trying to work out 1-2 hours a day and eating healthy and I plan to do that until I get back to my pre-April weight. The eating healthy will stay but the workouts will change at that point.
Once again, for those who are counting I started May 1 at 148 pounds. I am currently at 146 and my goal is to be at 136 (pre-April weight).
Wish me luck... I am not a morning person.
Where is my coffee...
Sunday, May 04, 2008
I want to go camping...

I haven't been hiking or camping in a long time. It would be nice to go again... only for a few days. I think more than that might ruin it. Hehe.
Next weekend I will do the walk again, this time with a camera in hand.
Saturday, May 03, 2008
Love it, really I do...
What had happened was I got back from my friend Rachael's birthday party at Brick Store Pub last night. It was the most fun, I brought my friend Marcus and I met up with Rachael, Kyle, Trip and everyone else that came and we birthday partied it up! I don't have pictures but Rachael brought her camera so if I get pictures I will add them here.
After the party I dropped Marcus off at his house, we chatted for a minute, and I made it home around 1:00am, and found no parking anywhere. I circled and circled the lot but there was nothing at all. So, I decided to park next to someone else who parallel parked in a not-so-legal spot, figuring that I would be up and out in 6 and 1/2 hours anyway. Well, in that time the towing company stopped by and towed my car, but not any other car that was illegally parked!!
Needless to say I was angry. The reason there was no where to park is the gate to the complex is, and has been since I moved in, broken. Since its been broken people come into town, park there because its free, and then go out on the town. When they get back the pick up their car and leave, so even though there was no parking for me last night at 1am there was tons of parking at 7:30am when I was calling the towing company to find out where my car was. With all these 'great' changes they are doing to the complex and keeping me up all hours with their construction they have yet to fix the gate. Because of a broken gate I had to waste my time and money to get my car out of towing. Which made me about an hour late for work. Luckily my friend Marcus was nice enough to pick me up and take me to the towing company this morning to get the car!!
So, I finally broke down and wrote another letter to the apartment complex that went like this...
Look back in my history and you will see I have been more than accommodating and helpful in trying to resolve the many issues from small appliance issues to mold, however I have never had a maintenance issue responded to in less than one week. And it has always taken a huge push from me with multiple letters, calls, and stops into the office to get trouble resolved. If you had to pay for my time in resolving issues you would be paying me to stay in your apartments! Any other apartment I have ever lived in has responded to all maintenance issues in less than 2 days after one quick email or call.
On top of this, the 'hot' water to my apartment has been lukewarm at best. When I take a shower I never actually use the cold water handle, and I am lucky if there is warm water or any water pressure. If I hope to get lucky enough to have hot water I must be up and in the shower at before everyone else and I must expect there to be no water pressure. When I wash my dishes I have been boiling my water first, just to have hot water.
Finally, I would like to discuss the broken gate. As on most weekend nights, last night I came home and there was absolutely no where to park. On the weekdays I am able to park without trouble however on the weekend the parking lot is full however I see no one having parties at their apartments. I work Saturday mornings and by the time I leave around 7:30am and as I am walking out the door I generally spot about 10 parking spaces available. The reasonable conclusion is people park in the complex because its free parking and by Marta, go out for the night, and then picking their cars back up after a night out. The problem for me, as well as other residents, is that when we want to park there is no where left. I came in at 1am and had to leave the this morning at 7:30am to go to work so I parked next to another car that parallel parked. By the time I walked out my car had been towed. Not only did I have to waste my time and resources getting my vehicle, I was late to work. Since my car was towed due a broken gate I conclude the fine for picking up my car should be paid by the complex.
I expect to be contacted Monday by Melissa, the property manager, on my cell at 404-323-1306.
Thursday, May 01, 2008
A Belly Full of BBQ is a Happy Belly!!
It was also so wonderful to get a lunch time to sit and chat with different people who work at the church. I get the opportunity to chat one-on-one quite often with a lot of the people here but generally not in a group situation. It was great!!
Thank you!!
Fortune Cookie
Liking what you do is happiness.
Oh yea, thats right ... in bed.
Does 'in bed' really work on this fortune?
Fierce

It's been a long while since I have watched the movie but I loved it! It made me want to go kick some butt myself. It also made me realize I am way too out of shape. So, starting again in May I am back to my old diet. No eating after 8pm, no dessert, and working out! I started working out this morning by going to the gym and running on the elliptical for 1 hour. Since I want to 'jump start' this gym thing I am going to go back after work for pilates and boxing!!
I can't wait!! I need to own the movie. Its a great motivational tool! LOL!!




